Per agent, per user or per ticket: how helpdesks charge

Evidence checked from to

Helpdesk prices look alike on a pricing page, but the unit behind the number differs. Some vendors charge for each agent, some for each user, and one charges by how many tickets you handle each month. This guide shows which unit each helpdesk uses, the seat and ticket limits that change the price, and what two example teams would pay on each plan at listed prices.

Which unit each helpdesk charges for

Products are listed A to Z.
ProductCharged per
eDeskAgent
FreshdeskAgent
FrontUser
GorgiasMonthly ticket volume
Help ScoutUser
HelpDeskUser
HubSpot Service HubUser
IntercomUser
LiveAgentAgent
Zendesk SuiteAgent
Zoho DeskUser

Per agent and per user prices work the same way in the arithmetic: the listed price times the number of seats. Who needs a paid seat, and whether colleagues who only read tickets can use a cheaper seat, differs by vendor and plan.

Seat limits that change which plan fits

Products are listed A to Z. Plans follow each vendor's pricing-page order.
ProductPlanSeat limit
FrontStarterUp to 10 users
FrontProfessionalUp to 50 users
GorgiasStarterUp to 3 users
GorgiasBasicUp to 500 users
GorgiasProUp to 500 users
GorgiasAdvancedUp to 500 users
Help ScoutFreeUp to 5 users
Help ScoutStandardUp to 25 users
Help ScoutPlusUp to 50 users
Help ScoutProAt least 10 users
HubSpot Service HubFreeUp to 2 users
Zoho DeskFreeUp to 3 users
Zoho DeskExpressUp to 5 users
Zoho DeskStandardZoho pages disagree: the comparison table says unlimited users, the pricing FAQ says 5 users.

Plans not listed here have no seat minimum or maximum stated on the pages we checked, or are stated as unlimited.

How ticket-volume pricing works

Each plan includes a number of tickets per month. Tickets above that number are charged per ticket at the rate shown. The listed price is for the plan, not for each user, and each plan has a user limit (see above).

Plans follow the vendor's pricing-page order.
PlanBilled annually, per monthBilled monthly, per monthTickets included per monthPrice per extra ticket
StarterMonthly billing only$1050$0.40
Basic$50$60300$0.40
Pro$300$3602,000$0.36
Advanced$750$9005,000$0.36
EnterpriseContact salesContact sales

Two example teams

Both examples use listed prices only, with no add-ons, taxes, discounts or light users. Billed annually shows the monthly cost on annual billing.

Team A: 3 agents, 500 tickets a month

Products are listed A to Z. Plans follow each vendor's pricing-page order.
ProductPlanBilled annually, per monthBilled monthly, per monthNotes
eDeskEssential$117$147
eDeskGrowth$267$345
eDeskProfessional$357$447
eDeskEnterpriseContact salesContact sales
FreshdeskGrowth$57$69
FreshdeskPro$165$198
FreshdeskEnterprise$267$321
FrontStarter$75$105
FrontProfessional$195$255
FrontEnterpriseThe listed price is not recorded (Front shows Enterprise as “Only available on annual”; no monthly price is listed.).
GorgiasStarterMonthly billing only$190Includes 50 tickets; 450 extra at $0.40 each
GorgiasBasic$130$140Includes 300 tickets; 200 extra at $0.40 each
GorgiasPro$300$360Includes 2,000 tickets
GorgiasAdvanced$750$900Includes 5,000 tickets
GorgiasEnterpriseContact salesContact sales
Help ScoutFreeHelp Scout Free stops replies after 100 contacts a month. Contacts aren't the same as tickets, but at 500 tickets a month you would likely pass that limit.
Help ScoutStandard$75$90
Help ScoutPlus$135$162
Help ScoutProPro starts at 10 users.
HelpDeskEssentialThe listed price currency is not stated.
HelpDeskGrowthThe listed price currency is not stated.
HelpDeskEnterpriseContact salesContact sales
HubSpot Service HubFreeFree allows up to 2 users.
HubSpot Service HubStarterThe listed price is not recorded (HubSpot's Starter price card is for the Starter Customer Platform: $7 a seat a month billed annually and $10 billed monthly, discounted from $20, with no stated discount duration.).
HubSpot Service HubProfessional$270$300
HubSpot Service HubEnterpriseThe listed price is not recorded (The catalog says Enterprise is billed annually; no monthly price is shown.).
IntercomEssentialThe listed price is not recorded (Intercom lists two different annual prices for Essential: $19 and $29.).
IntercomAdvancedThe listed price is not recorded (The $99 seat price is not tied to a billing period.).
IntercomExpertThe listed price is not recorded (Monthly billing is named only for Essential and Advanced.).
LiveAgentSmall business$45$57
LiveAgentMedium business$87$105
LiveAgentLarge business$147$177
LiveAgentEnterprise$207$255
Zendesk SuiteSuite Team$165$207
Zendesk SuiteSuite Professional$345$447
Zendesk SuiteSuite EnterpriseContact salesContact sales
Zoho DeskFreeFreeFree
Zoho DeskExpress$21$27
Zoho DeskStandard$42$60
Zoho DeskProfessional$69$105
Zoho DeskEnterprise$120$150

Team B: 10 agents, 3,000 tickets a month

Products are listed A to Z. Plans follow each vendor's pricing-page order.
ProductPlanBilled annually, per monthBilled monthly, per monthNotes
eDeskEssential$390$490
eDeskGrowth$890$1,150
eDeskProfessional$1,190$1,490
eDeskEnterpriseContact salesContact sales
FreshdeskGrowth$190$230
FreshdeskPro$550$660
FreshdeskEnterprise$890$1,070
FrontStarter$250$350
FrontProfessional$650$850
FrontEnterpriseThe listed price is not recorded (Front shows Enterprise as “Only available on annual”; no monthly price is listed.).
GorgiasStarterStarter allows up to 3 users.
GorgiasBasic$1,130$1,140Includes 300 tickets; 2,700 extra at $0.40 each
GorgiasPro$660$720Includes 2,000 tickets; 1,000 extra at $0.36 each
GorgiasAdvanced$750$900Includes 5,000 tickets
GorgiasEnterpriseContact salesContact sales
Help ScoutFreeHelp Scout Free stops replies after 100 contacts a month. Contacts aren't the same as tickets, but at 3,000 tickets a month you would likely pass that limit.
Help ScoutStandard$250$300
Help ScoutPlus$450$540
Help ScoutPro$750$900
HelpDeskEssentialThe listed price currency is not stated.
HelpDeskGrowthThe listed price currency is not stated.
HelpDeskEnterpriseContact salesContact sales
HubSpot Service HubFreeFree allows up to 2 users.
HubSpot Service HubStarterThe listed price is not recorded (HubSpot's Starter price card is for the Starter Customer Platform: $7 a seat a month billed annually and $10 billed monthly, discounted from $20, with no stated discount duration.).
HubSpot Service HubProfessional$900$1,000
HubSpot Service HubEnterpriseThe listed price is not recorded (The catalog says Enterprise is billed annually; no monthly price is shown.).
IntercomEssentialThe listed price is not recorded (Intercom lists two different annual prices for Essential: $19 and $29.).
IntercomAdvancedThe listed price is not recorded (The $99 seat price is not tied to a billing period.).
IntercomExpertThe listed price is not recorded (Monthly billing is named only for Essential and Advanced.).
LiveAgentSmall business$150$190
LiveAgentMedium business$290$350
LiveAgentLarge business$490$590
LiveAgentEnterprise$690$850
Zendesk SuiteSuite Team$550$690
Zendesk SuiteSuite Professional$1,150$1,490
Zendesk SuiteSuite EnterpriseContact salesContact sales
Zoho DeskFreeFree allows up to 3 users.
Zoho DeskExpressExpress allows up to 5 users.
Zoho DeskStandardZoho pages disagree: the comparison table says unlimited users, the pricing FAQ says 5 users.
Zoho DeskProfessional$230$350
Zoho DeskEnterprise$400$500

Totals move with different things: seat-priced plans with team size, ticket-volume plans with tickets per month. To try your own numbers, use the Compare all plans tab.

Sources

eDesk

Price source · checked 12 Oct 2026

Freshdesk

Price source · checked 6 Oct 2026

Front

Price source · checked 13 Oct 2026

Gorgias

Price source · checked 8 Oct 2026

Help Scout

Price source · checked 8 Oct 2026

HelpDesk

Price source · checked 9 Oct 2026

HubSpot Service Hub

Price source · checked 12 Oct 2026

Intercom

Price source · checked 12 Oct 2026

LiveAgent

Price source · checked 9 Oct 2026

Zendesk Suite

Price source · checked 8 Oct 2026

Zoho Desk

Price source · checked 8 Oct 2026