Help Scout vs Zendesk Suite: plans, prices and documented features

Each feature is checked separately. Plans follow each vendor's pricing-page order. Missing documentation does not mean a feature is unavailable.

Coverage and checked dates

Help Scout

Last checked:

Zendesk Suite

Evidence checked from to

Covers Zendesk Suite plans; the email-only Support Team plan isn't included.

Plans and listed prices

Help Scout

  • Free: $0
  • Standard: $25 per user/month billed annually · $30 per user/month billed monthly
  • Plus: $45 per user/month billed annually · $54 per user/month billed monthly
  • Pro: $75 per user/month billed annually · $90 per user/month billed monthly
Price source · checked 6 Oct 2026

Zendesk Suite

  • Suite Team: $55 per agent/month billed annually · $69 per agent/month billed monthly
  • Suite Professional: $115 per agent/month billed annually · $149 per agent/month billed monthly
  • Suite Enterprise: contact sales
Price source · checked 6 Oct 2026

Documented features by plan

Plan-by-plan feature status
FeatureHelp ScoutZendesk Suite
SLA policies

Free: not listed. Standard, Plus, Pro: included

Limits:

  • Standard: one basic SLA policy
  • Plus: two advanced SLA policies
  • Pro: unlimited SLA policies
  • Not available on legacy contact-based billing plans (not canonical).

Suite Team: not listed. Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Pricing-page comparison table ticks only Suite Professional (Suite Team shows a dash); the table has no Suite Enterprise column.
  • Suite Enterprise is named by the documentation banner ("Enterprise") and by the pricing card "Suite Professional features, plus:"; the table does not tick it.
  • Documentation also names Suite Growth and Enterprise Plus, which are not canonical plans.
Automatic assignment

Free, Standard: not listed. Plus, Pro: included

Limits:

  • Balanced (fewest active assignments) is Pro only; Plus has round robin only.
  • Setup note: Enabled per inbox; assigns only to Active teammates below their assignment limit.

Suite Team, Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Suite Team routes by agent status and capacity; skills- and priority-based routing is Suite Professional and above.
  • Pricing table lists the routing capability for Suite Team and Suite Professional; Suite Enterprise rests on the documentation banner ("Enterprise") and the cumulative card statement.
  • Setup note: Requires omnichannel routing to be turned on and configured (documentation notes activation requirements).
Custom agent roles

Free, Standard, Plus, Pro: not listed

Suite Team, Suite Professional: not included. Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Pricing comparison table shows a dash for Custom agent roles on Support Team, Suite Team and Suite Professional.
  • Documentation also names Enterprise Plus (not canonical).
SAML single sign-on

Free: not listed. Standard, Plus: add-on only. Pro: included

Limits:

  • The documentation says "This feature is available on the Pro plan" and does not mention the Standard/Plus add-on; the pricing page shows the add-on. Add-on is a condition, not plan inclusion.

Suite Team, Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Pricing row is a bundle ("Native, SSO, and 2FA"); the SAML bullet sits inside that row and its single tick covers the whole row.
  • Suite Enterprise rests on the documentation banner; the pricing table has no Suite Enterprise column.
  • Documentation also names Growth and Enterprise Plus (not canonical).
Public knowledge base

Free, Standard, Plus, Pro: included

Limits:

  • Free is limited to 1 Docs site and 10 articles.
  • Private (Users-only) content is also supported; public content is the default.

Suite Team, Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Documentation says the customer portal ticket-management feature is not available on Suite Team (the portal, not the knowledge base).
  • Help center content can also be restricted to agents or segments; the help center is documented as a customer-facing site.
  • Suite Enterprise rests on the documentation banner.
Custom reports

Free, Standard, Plus, Pro: not listed

Suite Team: not included. Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Suite Team gets Explore Lite, which the documentation says cannot create custom reports or dashboards (prebuilt only).
  • Suite Enterprise rests on the Explore plan table (Explore Enterprise is included in Suite Enterprise) plus the cumulative card statement; the captured sources do not contain a sentence saying Explore Enterprise builds custom reports.
Included:
the vendor's own page names this plan for the feature.
Not included:
the vendor's own page says this plan doesn't have it.
Not listed:
the vendor's pricing and help pages we checked don't mention it for this plan. That doesn't mean it's missing.
Add-on only:
the vendor documents it on this plan only with a paid add-on or extra condition.

Entry plan that documents it

This is the first plan in pricing-page order confirmed to include the feature. Features are checked separately; these rows do not confirm a shared plan for your whole list.

Entry plan that documents each feature
FeatureHelp ScoutZendesk Suite
SLA policiesStandard: $25 per user/month billed annually · $30 per user/month billed monthlySuite Professional: $115 per agent/month billed annually · $149 per agent/month billed monthly
Automatic assignmentPlus: $45 per user/month billed annually · $54 per user/month billed monthlySuite Team: $55 per agent/month billed annually · $69 per agent/month billed monthly
Custom agent rolesNot documented on any planSuite Enterprise: contact sales
SAML single sign-onPro: $75 per user/month billed annually · $90 per user/month billed monthly (add-on on Standard, Plus)Suite Team: $55 per agent/month billed annually · $69 per agent/month billed monthly
Public knowledge baseFree: $0Suite Team: $55 per agent/month billed annually · $69 per agent/month billed monthly
Custom reportsNot documented on any planSuite Professional: $115 per agent/month billed annually · $149 per agent/month billed monthly

Notes on features and prices

Help Scout

  • Standard includes one basic SLA policy; Plus two; Pro unlimited.
  • Plus routes by round robin; Pro adds load-balanced routing.
  • Pro includes SSO/SAML; on Standard and Plus it is an add-on.
  • Docs sites: Free 1, Standard 2, Plus 3, Pro 5; Standard, Plus and Pro add sites at $20/mo.
  • Free includes 5 users, 1 Inbox and 1 Docs site.
  • Standard supports up to 25 users.
  • Plus supports up to 50 users.
  • Pro requires at least 10 users.

Zendesk Suite

  • Suite Team routes by agent status and capacity; Suite Professional adds skill and ticket priority.

Cost notes

Help Scout

Last checked:

Account-wide notes

  • AI Answers is an add-on billed at $0.75 per resolution.

Light users

  • Free, Standard: Light users are only available on Plus and Pro.
  • Plus: 5 light users included; more cost extra (price not stated), up to 25 in total.
  • Pro: 15 light users included; more cost extra (price not stated), up to 50 in total.
  • Plus, Pro: Can view conversations and collaborate, but can't reply to customers.

Plan-specific notes

  • Standard, Plus, Pro: The Account Owner counts as a billed user.

Zendesk Suite

Last checked:

Account-wide notes

  • App Builder, Action Builder and Voice are billed by usage beyond plan allowances.
  • The light agent help article also lists Suite Growth and Enterprise Plus, which are not on the current pricing page.

Light agents

  • Suite Team: Light agents are a paid add-on on Suite Team; the add-on price is not stated.
  • Suite Professional: Includes up to 100 light agents; more are a paid add-on (price not stated).
  • Suite Enterprise: Includes up to 1,000 light agents, according to the help article.
  • Suite Team, Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: Can read tickets and add private comments.

Sources

Help Scout

Zendesk Suite

Check your own feature list

Help Scout

Zendesk Suite