Front vs Help Scout: plans, prices and documented features

Each feature is checked separately. Plans follow each vendor's pricing-page order. Missing documentation does not mean a feature is unavailable.

Coverage and checked dates

Front

Last checked:

Covers the Starter, Professional and Enterprise plans on the current Front pricing page.

Help Scout

Last checked:

Plans and listed prices

Front

  • Starter: $25 per user/month billed annually · $35 per user/month billed monthly
  • Professional: $65 per user/month billed annually · $85 per user/month billed monthly
  • Enterprise: $105 per user/month billed annually · monthly: Price not listed
Price source · checked 13 Oct 2026

Help Scout

  • Free: $0
  • Standard: $25 per user/month billed annually · $30 per user/month billed monthly
  • Plus: $45 per user/month billed annually · $54 per user/month billed monthly
  • Pro: $75 per user/month billed annually · $90 per user/month billed monthly
Price source · checked 6 Oct 2026

Documented features by plan

Plan-by-plan feature status
FeatureFrontHelp Scout
SLA policies

Starter: not listed. Professional, Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Time goal rules are shared rules only; they cannot be individual or company rules.

Free: not listed. Standard, Plus, Pro: included

Limits:

  • Standard: one basic SLA policy
  • Plus: two advanced SLA policies
  • Pro: unlimited SLA policies
  • Not available on legacy contact-based billing plans (not canonical).
Automatic assignment

Starter, Professional, Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Starter: Up to 10 workspace rules.
  • Professional: Up to 20 workspace rules.
  • Enterprise: Unlimited workspace rules.

Free, Standard: not listed. Plus, Pro: included

Limits:

  • Balanced (fewest active assignments) is Pro only; Plus has round robin only.
  • Setup note: Enabled per inbox; assigns only to Active teammates below their assignment limit.
Custom agent roles

Starter, Professional: not listed. Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Front limits customization of default workspace permissions to Enterprise and legacy Scale plans.
  • In the newer permissions system, the Contributor and Admin permission sets cannot be customized.

Free, Standard, Plus, Pro: not listed

SAML single sign-on

Starter: not included. Professional, Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • SSO is turned on for the whole company, and then every user signs in through the identity provider.

Free: not listed. Standard, Plus: add-on only. Pro: included

Limits:

  • The documentation says "This feature is available on the Pro plan" and does not mention the Standard/Plus add-on; the pricing page shows the add-on. Add-on is a condition, not plan inclusion.
Public knowledge base

Starter, Professional, Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Starter: 1 published knowledge base with up to 1,000 articles.
  • Internal and external knowledge bases both count toward the limit.
  • Professional: Up to 2 published knowledge bases with up to 5,000 articles each.
  • Enterprise: Up to 50 published knowledge bases with up to 10,000 articles each.

Free, Standard, Plus, Pro: included

Limits:

  • Free is limited to 1 Docs site and 10 articles.
  • Private (Users-only) content is also supported; public content is the default.
Custom reports

Starter, Professional: not included. Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Front says this feature is in open beta and may change before general availability.
  • One dashboard per teammate per workspace, with up to 10 charts of each type.

Free, Standard, Plus, Pro: not listed

Included:
the vendor's own page names this plan for the feature.
Not included:
the vendor's own page says this plan doesn't have it.
Not listed:
the vendor's pricing and help pages we checked don't mention it for this plan. That doesn't mean it's missing.
Add-on only:
the vendor documents it on this plan only with a paid add-on or extra condition.

Entry plan that documents it

This is the first plan in pricing-page order confirmed to include the feature. Features are checked separately; these rows do not confirm a shared plan for your whole list.

Entry plan that documents each feature
FeatureFrontHelp Scout
SLA policiesProfessional: $65 per user/month billed annually · $85 per user/month billed monthlyStandard: $25 per user/month billed annually · $30 per user/month billed monthly
Automatic assignmentStarter: $25 per user/month billed annually · $35 per user/month billed monthlyPlus: $45 per user/month billed annually · $54 per user/month billed monthly
Custom agent rolesEnterprise: $105 per user/month billed annually · monthly: Price not listedNot documented on any plan
SAML single sign-onProfessional: $65 per user/month billed annually · $85 per user/month billed monthlyPro: $75 per user/month billed annually · $90 per user/month billed monthly (add-on on Standard, Plus)
Public knowledge baseStarter: $25 per user/month billed annually · $35 per user/month billed monthlyFree: $0
Custom reportsEnterprise: $105 per user/month billed annually · monthly: Price not listedNot documented on any plan

Notes on features and prices

Front

  • Starter: Up to 10 seats, with a one seat minimum.
  • Professional: Up to 50 seats, with a one seat minimum.
  • For the Enterprise seat minimum, Front asks buyers to contact Sales.
  • Front shows Enterprise as “Only available on annual”; no monthly price is listed.

Help Scout

  • Standard includes one basic SLA policy; Plus two; Pro unlimited.
  • Plus routes by round robin; Pro adds load-balanced routing.
  • Pro includes SSO/SAML; on Standard and Plus it is an add-on.
  • Docs sites: Free 1, Standard 2, Plus 3, Pro 5; Standard, Plus and Pro add sites at $20/mo.
  • Free includes 5 users, 1 Inbox and 1 Docs site.
  • Standard supports up to 25 users.
  • Plus supports up to 50 users.
  • Pro requires at least 10 users.

Cost notes

Front

Last checked:

Account-wide notes

  • Front requires an onboarding package for contracts over $25k; the package price is not stated in the pages we checked.
  • Monthly and yearly subscriptions are paid upfront, and payments are nonrefundable, even if you cancel early.
  • All seats in an organization are on one plan; seats are added or removed within that plan.
  • Channels per license: Starter 10, Professional 30, Enterprise 50.
  • Starter supports only one channel type: Email, Front Chat or SMS.
  • Autopilot, the AI agent, is a paid add-on starting at $0.05 per conversation.
  • Native WhatsApp on Professional and Enterprise is billed at Meta's WhatsApp costs plus a 20% admin fee.
  • Raising the API rate limit costs $200 per month for each extra 100 requests per minute.

Guest accounts

  • Starter, Professional, Enterprise: Guest accounts need no license but cannot send external messages. Front allows 150 guest invites every three days per company.
  • Starter, Professional, Enterprise: Guests can read a conversation shared with them from the last 7 days, comment, and edit shared drafts. They cannot send email or SMS, see tags or start drafts.

Plan-specific notes

  • Starter, Professional: Copilot is a paid add-on at $20 per seat per month (included on Enterprise).

Help Scout

Last checked:

Account-wide notes

  • AI Answers is an add-on billed at $0.75 per resolution.

Light users

  • Free, Standard: Light users are only available on Plus and Pro.
  • Plus: 5 light users included; more cost extra (price not stated), up to 25 in total.
  • Pro: 15 light users included; more cost extra (price not stated), up to 50 in total.
  • Plus, Pro: Can view conversations and collaborate, but can't reply to customers.

Plan-specific notes

  • Standard, Plus, Pro: The Account Owner counts as a billed user.

Sources

Front

Help Scout

Check your own feature list

Front

Help Scout