Intercom vs Zendesk Suite: plans, prices and documented features

Each feature is checked separately. Plans follow each vendor's pricing-page order. Missing documentation does not mean a feature is unavailable.

Coverage and checked dates

Intercom

Last checked:

Covers the Essential, Advanced and Expert seat plans. Fin AI Agent used with another helpdesk is not a plan here.

Zendesk Suite

Evidence checked from to

Covers Zendesk Suite plans; the email-only Support Team plan isn't included.

Plans and listed prices

Intercom

  • Essential: Price not listed
  • Advanced: $85 per user/month billed annually · monthly: Price not listed
  • Expert: $132 per user/month billed annually · monthly: Price not listed
Price source · checked 12 Oct 2026

Zendesk Suite

  • Suite Team: $55 per agent/month billed annually · $69 per agent/month billed monthly
  • Suite Professional: $115 per agent/month billed annually · $149 per agent/month billed monthly
  • Suite Enterprise: contact sales
Price source · checked 6 Oct 2026

Documented features by plan

Plan-by-plan feature status
FeatureIntercomZendesk Suite
SLA policies

Essential, Advanced: not listed. Expert: included

Suite Team: not listed. Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Pricing-page comparison table ticks only Suite Professional (Suite Team shows a dash); the table has no Suite Enterprise column.
  • Suite Enterprise is named by the documentation banner ("Enterprise") and by the pricing card "Suite Professional features, plus:"; the table does not tick it.
  • Documentation also names Suite Growth and Enterprise Plus, which are not canonical plans.
Automatic assignment

Essential: not listed. Advanced, Expert: included

Limits:

  • Round robin must be switched on for a team inbox.
  • Round robin applies to conversations routed to a team inbox by a Workflow or assigned to it with a macro.

Suite Team, Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Suite Team routes by agent status and capacity; skills- and priority-based routing is Suite Professional and above.
  • Pricing table lists the routing capability for Suite Team and Suite Professional; Suite Enterprise rests on the documentation banner ("Enterprise") and the cumulative card statement.
  • Setup note: Requires omnichannel routing to be turned on and configured (documentation notes activation requirements).
Custom agent roles

Essential, Advanced: not included. Expert: included

Suite Team, Suite Professional: not included. Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Pricing comparison table shows a dash for Custom agent roles on Support Team, Suite Team and Suite Professional.
  • Documentation also names Enterprise Plus (not canonical).
SAML single sign-on

Essential, Advanced: not included. Expert: included

Limits:

  • With OneLogin, workspaces hosted in the EU or Australia should check with OneLogin that the integration is supported.

Suite Team, Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Pricing row is a bundle ("Native, SSO, and 2FA"); the SAML bullet sits inside that row and its single tick covers the whole row.
  • Suite Enterprise rests on the documentation banner; the pricing table has no Suite Enterprise column.
  • Documentation also names Growth and Enterprise Plus (not canonical).
Public knowledge base

Essential, Advanced, Expert: included

Suite Team, Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Documentation says the customer portal ticket-management feature is not available on Suite Team (the portal, not the knowledge base).
  • Help center content can also be restricted to agents or segments; the help center is documented as a customer-facing site.
  • Suite Enterprise rests on the documentation banner.
Custom reports

Essential: not listed. Advanced, Expert: included

Limits:

  • Creating a report needs the permission to create, edit and share reports.

Suite Team: not included. Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: included

Limits:

  • Suite Team gets Explore Lite, which the documentation says cannot create custom reports or dashboards (prebuilt only).
  • Suite Enterprise rests on the Explore plan table (Explore Enterprise is included in Suite Enterprise) plus the cumulative card statement; the captured sources do not contain a sentence saying Explore Enterprise builds custom reports.
Included:
the vendor's own page names this plan for the feature.
Not included:
the vendor's own page says this plan doesn't have it.
Not listed:
the vendor's pricing and help pages we checked don't mention it for this plan. That doesn't mean it's missing.

Entry plan that documents it

This is the first plan in pricing-page order confirmed to include the feature. Features are checked separately; these rows do not confirm a shared plan for your whole list.

Entry plan that documents each feature
FeatureIntercomZendesk Suite
SLA policiesExpert: $132 per user/month billed annually · monthly: Price not listedSuite Professional: $115 per agent/month billed annually · $149 per agent/month billed monthly
Automatic assignmentAdvanced: $85 per user/month billed annually · monthly: Price not listedSuite Team: $55 per agent/month billed annually · $69 per agent/month billed monthly
Custom agent rolesExpert: $132 per user/month billed annually · monthly: Price not listedSuite Enterprise: contact sales
SAML single sign-onExpert: $132 per user/month billed annually · monthly: Price not listedSuite Team: $55 per agent/month billed annually · $69 per agent/month billed monthly
Public knowledge baseEssential: Price not listedSuite Team: $55 per agent/month billed annually · $69 per agent/month billed monthly
Custom reportsAdvanced: $85 per user/month billed annually · monthly: Price not listedSuite Professional: $115 per agent/month billed annually · $149 per agent/month billed monthly

Notes on features and prices

Intercom

  • Intercom lists two different annual prices for Essential: $19 and $29.
  • Essential: The $39 seat price is not tied to a billing period.
  • Advanced: The $99 seat price is not tied to a billing period.
  • Monthly billing is named only for Essential and Advanced.

Zendesk Suite

  • Suite Team routes by agent status and capacity; Suite Professional adds skill and ticket priority.

Cost notes

Intercom

Last checked:

Account-wide notes

  • Fin AI Agent costs $0.99 per outcome on every plan, charged at most once per conversation, and nothing when Fin cannot answer.
  • Fin Voice is sold through sales at $1.99 per voice outcome.
  • Fin AI Agent used with another helpdesk has no seat costs and a minimum monthly commitment.
  • Copilot is an optional add-on: $29 per agent a month on annual billing, or $35 a month on monthly billing.
  • Pro is an optional add-on that starts at $100 a month and includes analysis of 500 conversations and 6,000 credits a month; extra credits cost $0.01 each.
  • Proactive Support Plus is an optional add-on at $99 a month, which includes 500 messages a month; additional messages are charged per unit.
  • WhatsApp, SMS, bulk email and phone are billed by usage in addition to seat prices.
  • Additional seats and additional usage are always charged at list price; annual discounts do not apply to them.
  • All seats in a workspace must be on the same plan.

Lite seats

  • Essential: Essential does not offer Lite seats.
  • Advanced: 20 lite seats are included at no charge. The maximum and the price of more are not stated.
  • Expert: 50 lite seats are included at no charge. The maximum and the price of more are not stated.
  • Advanced, Expert: Cannot create SLAs, manage shared macros, manage round robin or delete notes. Can create and edit custom reports.

Zendesk Suite

Last checked:

Account-wide notes

  • App Builder, Action Builder and Voice are billed by usage beyond plan allowances.
  • The light agent help article also lists Suite Growth and Enterprise Plus, which are not on the current pricing page.

Light agents

  • Suite Team: Light agents are a paid add-on on Suite Team; the add-on price is not stated.
  • Suite Professional: Includes up to 100 light agents; more are a paid add-on (price not stated).
  • Suite Enterprise: Includes up to 1,000 light agents, according to the help article.
  • Suite Team, Suite Professional, Suite Enterprise: Can read tickets and add private comments.

Sources

Intercom

Zendesk Suite

Check your own feature list

Intercom

Zendesk Suite